(Rug) München pt. 2

Today we set off in 2 groups – 3 of the boys went to see the BMW museum in the north part of Munich while me and Ana went to the 2 art museums in Munich. Personally, I don’t really care that much for cars and because there are 3 art museums in Munich all beside each other I knew I wasn’t going to be able to do all 3 so I wanted to do as many of them as I could. Unlike yesterday, Munich suddenly turned very dark and cold.

We finally arrived at the Pinakothek der Moderne (which houses the Modern Art) which we were actually first introduced to by our German language teacher. He pretty much suggested for us to go to Munich in the first place because of his visit to this museum.

The museum was really interesting and I think the highlight was seeing a high school art class sitting in front of some of the paintings and sketching them (because we used to do that in high school too!) We got a message from the boys saying they wouldn’t finish at 2:30 so we decided to head over to the Alte Pinakothek (Housing Renaissance/Medieval artworks) to fill in the time.

We were pretty hungry so we decided to have lunch in the cafe. I was really surprised because they didnt’ accept credit cards which was really weird so Ana lent me money and I had a chocolate tart and darjeeling tea.

We entered the gallery to see a huuge staircase to lead into the works

The works were really nice and we had an audio guide to give us a description of the work which was a good change from the modern museum because the captions were in German. So, if you could imagine Modern art is abstract enough .. not being able to read what it’s about is a nightmare. It reached 2:30 and I was so tired from the day already to the point that while I was sitting in front of the works listening to the audio guide I started to fall asleep whilst reclining on the sofas ahah.

We left the gallery to find the boys but couldn’t find them so decided to head back into the city where Ana went back to the hostel to sleep and I wandered around by myself. I really wanted to explore the gay/lesbian/young area of Munich and got a bit lost trying to find it. However, I did come across some really cool book shops which had a great collection of design books.

I finally ventured back to the hostel where Adrian told us his friend Tanja who lives in Munich was going to join us for dinner. I suggested we had Thai after i found a really good Thai place and it certainly didn’t disappoint!

I was so excited to have Thai again!  They didn’t have Pad Thai (I know) so I ordered some noodles which pretty much were the equivalent. I also got Mango Lassi which was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! It really made me home sick and sad that when I went back to Dornbirn I wouldn’t be able to have anything like this (because all we have are Italian and Austrian restaurants!)

We then headed out to the area Tanja works in which would be the equivalent to Surry Hills/Darlinghurst in Sydney. She works as an Interior Designer in an Architecture firm and was telling me how she’s been working on a lookbook for her company for an upcoming Design festival in Milan.

After 2 failed attempts to get into bars (one was closed, the other was too full) we finally found a really nice bar where I ordered a Cider and we all relaxed for the last night in Munich. Here, we were served by the most orgasmic waitress who was a mix between Keira Knightley and Shane from the L Word. I’m pretty sure I was salivating.

I had to catch a train back the next morning at 6:51 and by the time we got back to the hostel it was near midnight. I woke up at 6:30am the next morning (thank god i bought the ticket the night before) and ran to the train station to just get onto the train back to Austria.

The carriage on this train was different than the other trains I’ve caught so far. I had my own compartment with a door and 6 seats to myself. Here’s me looking a little worse for wear but it was like 6:50 in the morning so give me a break! 😉

Leave a comment

